The Plastic-Free Chef

Graham crackers are the ultimate snack. They’re like cookies, but not. I got the book Make the Bread, Buy the Butter for Christmas and it has a graham cracker recipe in it. I decided to try it out. The results were delicious. Here are the ingredients I used (I made a couple changes to the original recipe.):

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ (buy in a glass jar)
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (buy in bulk)
  • 1/4 cup brown rice syrup or honey (buy in glass jars)

Whisk together flour, wheat germ, salt, baking soda and cinnamon.

In a separate bowl, beat butter, sugar and brown rice syrup until fluffy.

Add flour mixture. Mix until combined. Mine was a little too dry, so I added about two…

View original post 169 more words

