fruit and vegHere in Melbourne, we are in the midst of summer and with it fruits and vegetables galore. This is the time we can pick ripe fruit and veg for either pickling, jams, sauces for freezing. I love going to the market and seeing the fresh food and smelling it ofcourse. I have noticed juicy red strawberries, tomatoes, cherries, mangoes, capsicums.  Now you can plan to bottle your own foods to keep for the colder months when these foods are not available in the market.

Some ideas for bottling or freezing:

  • Tomato sauce
  • Tomato relish
  • Strawberry jam
  • Cherry jam
  • Capsicum relish
  • Mango chutney
  • Pickled vegetables

Have a sneak peak at what is in season in Melbourne and Victoria http://seasonalfoodguide.com/melbourne-victoria-seasonal-fresh-produce-guide-fruits-vegetables-in-season-availability-australia.html . Would you like to share links from your country?

I learnt from watching my grandma and aunts making pickles and jams. I have experimented making my own, some have turned out good, some not so good. Start with a small batch and you have nothing to lose.

I will be posting some more recipes later!

